Telling It The Way I See It











{July 24, 2011}   Race For Life 2011

Well today was the day……. Portsmouth’ Race For Life 2011. A woman only walk to raise money for Cancer Research UK, a charity very close to my heart!

It’s the 4th year I’ve done it but it means so much to me today as it did in2008!! The last 2 years even more though, since I lost my beloved Grandad to cancer 😥

The weather was perfect for it, nice and sunny but with a lovely cool breeze and it took place along the seafront, the perfect venue in my eyes. There were thousands upon thousands of woman there, so dressed up in fancy dress, so there to walk, some there to run. Woman and girls of all ages. It was great to see everyone getting together for such a brilliant event!

The whole way round was quite hard for me, and the pain kicked in very early on, but there was noway i was going to give in. If I had a slight waver, i’d just picture grandad in my head, or look down at his name on my arm and it gave me that incentive to push harder! In the end, it took me and my mum 45mins to do 5km, which I was very happy with!!!

A massive well done to everyone who took part, and a massive thank you to anyone who sponsored someone. And lastly, a massive thought to those who we have lost through cancer, to those who continue to fight it, and for those who have thankfully beaten it!! Those people will forever be in my prayers!!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
