Telling It The Way I See It











{October 24, 2010}   The Unknown Addict

It is not I who become addicted, it was my body – Jean Cocteau

I am a 26 year old woman. I work in a call centre. I have friends and a partner. I enjoy reading books, writing and listening to music. I like dogs but am allergic to cats. I get on with all my family. And I’m a drug addict!

If someone had said to me 10 years ago that I would become an addict I would of laughed in their face. I am so anti drugs. So how am I addicted? I am addicted to a prescribed drug, Tramadol. When you say it’s a prescription drug, people tend to laugh and say it’s not as bad as these Class A drugs, but I beg to differ!

I started taking it a few years ago for my chronic pelvic pain, and to start with my Dr warned me it could be addictive and not to take it for too long…….4 years on, they are still prescribing it to me. How did I know I was addicted???? It was the day I thought I didn’t need to take anything. I didn’t sleep the whole night, I had hot and cold sweats, my bones felt like they were coming out of my skin, and I was ready to kill!!!!! I had never felt that bad before in my life. So I gave in, popped a few pills and about an hour later I was starting to feel a bit more human. So I may not be breaking the law, but all drug addictions are the same in my eyes. My family and I joke about it, but deep down we know it’s something  I need to kick, but when your told that no other painkiller will work, you don’t really have a choice.

So i’m hoping that if my operation is successful next month, then I can begin the process of weening myself off the stuff, though i’m not looking forward to it at all.

A quick word of advice…………you’re Dr doesn’t always know best!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
