Telling It The Way I See It











{September 27, 2010}   You Can’t Please Everyone

Be positive. Focus on your happy relationships. At the same time, accept that there will be ones that don’t go so well. Whatever you say or do, whoever you are, whatever character or personality you have, you won’t be able to please everyone, allinspiration.com

Do you ever find yourself saying yes to anything and everything just to please people around you? Ever go against your instinct just so you can fit in??

I’m definitely a yes person. Without people taking this the wrong way, I just hate saying no!! No matter what it is, if someone wants me to say yes I will. The problem is, when I don’t follow through, or it comes out that really I meant no, it just lands me in trouble, even though I had all the best intentions to start.

Why can’t I say no???? I hate the thought of upsetting people, or letting someone down, even though I do in the end. I never mean to, I really don’t and I don’t mean to come across like a let down, but I know that’s how people see me. I need to be more assertive…….but that’s so much easier said that done.

I looked up the definition of No, and it’s such a negative word. Every definition makes me feel gloomy: refusal, denial, disagreement. Even written them makes me feel guilty and negative. Now the Yes word: affirmative, consenting, approving, don’t they just make you feel so much better.

So I’m guessing it all comes down to the fact that I don’t want to be a negative person. Though I do need to realise that in the long run, if I don’t mean it, it’s only going to have a negative effect anyway. That at the end of the day, people should have the confidence to say what they really feel, and stick to that choice. And if all else fails, just remember, You Can’t Please Everyone……….

Leave a Reply

et cetera
